Looking up

Lately I’ve been writing poetry with a friend and transforming the poetry into songs. This friend will be playing with a very popular band so stay tuned for more info!!! I wrote this tonight. All copyrights belong to me and bellavitabyjamie so don’t catch bad karma by claiming it as your own. I named it Looking Up. Enjoy!!!

**edit- I can now confirm that my soul sister crooner BFF Ashleigh Stone will be touring with Blue October this year!!! Blue October is about to release a new album and Ashleigh will be performing a duet with Justin. Congratulations Ashleigh!!! Ashleigh and I wrote a song together that is straight from the soul. We will release a video of that soon.

you were everything

in which everyone was defined

you robbed self confidence

crucified my mind

had me need you, made me believe you

suspended me from your fault line

then  you shook it all down down down

too selfish to build it back up up up

so you moved on in your own way

and now I’m supposed to clean up

don’t you know that it takes work?

don’t you know that it takes time?

don’t you know that I hung around

hoping you would change your mind?

you tore it all down down down

too selfish to build it back up up up

so you moved on in your own way

and now I’m supposed to clean up.

now I get the cards I’ve been dealt

finally learned to love myself

intuition and backbone

having strength to tell you no

’cause don’t you know-

you tore it down down down

always lethargic and givin’ up

I used to pilfer the broken pieces

but nowadays I just look up

yeah, I used to try to see you

but nowadays I just look up

If you enjoyed this blog, please share it!!!! Much love, -J.

1 comment
  1. Wow, Jamie….this is so good. It always seems to amaze me how much I can see myself in those thoughts – the words that you choose takes me on such a personal journey of the mountains and valleys, the ups and downs of my own life. This poem is truly universal and I can’t wait to put some music to it!!!! Thanks for what you give to everyone each day.

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

