Eat, Pray, Love

“Life, if you keep chasing it so hard, will drive you to death. Time, when pursued like a bandit, will always behave like one; remaining one county or one room ahead of you, changing its name or hair color to elude you, slipping out the back door of the motel just as you are banging through the lobby with your newest warrant, leaving only a cigarette behind in the ashtray to taunt you. You have to admit that you can’t catch it. That you’re not supposed to catch it. At some point, you have gotta let go and sit still and let contentment find you.” -Elizabeth Gilbert

This is my favorite quote from Eat, Pray, Love. If you are female and haven’t read this book yet, please get on it sister!!!! And don’t take a shortcut by watching the movie- even the gorgeous Julia Roberts couldn’t save that pitiful catastrophe of a dud chic flick. I have this book highlighted and bookmarked so much that it is ridiculous. I first read this book while I was still in the military and had to be apart from my husband for a year and a half. It was a year and a half of hell- salmonella poisoning, hip surgery, getting a Master’s degree in ten months, shooting weddings on the weekends, rescuing Cheyenne the dog but she was so scared and chewed up everything and crapped and peed on everything, dealing with fixing about $50K in storm damage on two homes, and having a job that I had far outgrown. Just walking into my old place of work made me miserable. The building was an old nasty bomb shelter that smelled like dirty gym socks. I read this book and it was a vacation for me. And now I am out of the military and free to do as I please. I hope to live a life as interesting as Mrs. Gilbert’s, but in Jamie-style of course.  I guess what I’m saying is that this book reminded me that I had a soul when I didn’t even realize I was missing it. Aren’t those the best books? The ones that ask the questions that you never thought to ask?? I feel indebted to Elizabeth Gilbert for reminding me that happiness was just around the bend and an honorable discharge away…

4 comments
  1. I was thinking about watching eat pray love but now that I saw your review I think I will read the book first 😀

  2. Roni Eulo said:

    It hadn’t really crossed my mind to watch the movie or read the book (MOST chick flicks = Nooo to me) but I am taking your word, because I totally trust you, and I’m picking this baby up on my next trip to Target.
    I love your blog, Jamie. You are one of my favorite souls by far!
    Bear hugs,
    Roni

    • Let me know if you like the book V. I think it’s full of wisdom and wit.

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

