How green is green??

My husband and I were at Whole Earth Provisions which is like a REI+Spencers+hippie+dipster+hipster store.

Tom’s shoes are all the craze. I tried on a pair that looked like this…

I can look awesome and artsy for only $55- but wait, they are all biodegradable and green and sh*t and you’re actually buying a pair of shoes for an African child!!! I looked at my husband and in a daze said, “I MUST have these.” I felt the Tom’s craze even though I think they are the ugliest shoes in the world on my wide feet. I heard the children on my feet squeal in pain as I tried to convince myself that they looked amazing. I remember when that type of shoe was one of the only styles that my family could afford. I was thankful for them because one year I didn’t even have new school shoes. And now I have over 100 pairs of shoes in my closet and I was going to drop $55 for this pair in a daze when I realized something amazing: I DON’T NEED THEM.

So there I stood in the Galleria of Houston with all these rich @ssholes who probably would have died on Everest had it not been for the sherpa calling every single shot and then describing the trip as a triumph of the human spirit while bragging to friends. I looked at my husband and said, “Let’s get the hell out of here.” Just so you know, it costs roughly $1.50 US to produce these shoes, where the impoverished factory workers in turn markup to $5 per pair to sell to distributors, who in turn mark it up to $25, and so on and so forth. For me, being green means abstaining from buying crap that you don’t need. Don’t get me wrong, what Blake Mycoskie is doing is great: for every pair of shoes that TOMS sells, it donates a pair to a child in need and that is a wonderful thing. But I can go out myself and volunteer in my old shoes that are working just fine. Feeling like I am making a difference is worth so much less to me than actually going out and doing the legwork for myself. But that’s just me.

Lastly, it’s been awhile since I’ve posted and I apologize. I’ve been ill with an upper respiratory virus. I’m finally better and will be posting more frequently. Keep your chins up my homies because I love all of yuins!!!! <— thank God my calling wasn’t to be a grammar teacher

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

