quick kick con queso

I love football. I’ve loved it since I was 19 y/o and went to my first University of Tennessee game. Neyland Stadium was packed and the energy was so amped and I lost my voice. It was one of the best experiences of my life- like the longest roller coaster ride ever. That was the glory days. I am an OU alum and still root for UT. Don’t ask me why. UT has been the most abusive relationship of my life. UT played Georgia today. I ditched my OU jogging pants, dressed in orange and made beef queso.

Here is the recipe:

Crock pot and skillet
1 lb. (16 oz.) VELVEETA®, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 lb.  pork sausage or beef or mixed (I used just beef), cooked, drained
diced cilantro (to taste)
1 can (10 oz.) RO*TEL Diced Tomatoes & Green Chilies, undrained
1 TSP Cholula or other hot sauce
1 small diced onion / green onion / chives (whichever you prefer)
garlic salt to taste
dash of onion powder
dash chili powder
Frito’s Scoops chips
Brown the meat w/onion and chili powder, garlic salt, and chives (if you like a little crunch in the dip, cut the chives or green onion and add as the last step-  this would be too pungent to do with an onion though). Add the hot sauce when meat is almost done and mix well. I don’t know why but the hot sauce really adds a lot of flavor but not much heat. Strain meat if it is too greasy. In a crock pot, add the Velveeta cheese cubes, tomatoes and green chilis, cilantro and meat. I also diced a fresh Granger Co. tomato (you know, good tomatoes, bad tomatoes aren’t even worth the effort- go local and organic if possible for best flavor). Because I added extra tomato, my picture is a little bit redder than what yours dip will look like if you follow this recipe exactly (which I NEVER do). Let this concoction of amazing goo melt. If it’s too thick, add milk to thin out. I think the next time I make this, I plan on adding roasted poblano peppers. YUM!
Keep the crock pot on low and enjoy the awesomeness of electric orange cheesy dip.
This dip is way better with Frito Scoops than tortilla chips. Don’t hate the player, hate the game. Just like I hated the Georgia/UT game. But my** dip was there to console me.
**bellavitabyjamie is not liable for health problems associated with American gluttony
1 comment
  1. I like the helpful info you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I will learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

