appaHAPPY.

This trip has been like a cold drink of water after low crawling miles in the desert. I needed the Appalachians in autumn to soothe my soul and it was nice to escape the busy traffic and excessive honking of horns all day and night. In Houston if a siren goes off, no one flinches. Here if a siren goes off, everybody knows that Mrs. Hogwash had been backed up for five days because she ate too much fried cheesy hashbrown casserole at the church revival and had to call an ambulance.

Home can be many places. I think it’s all the places that you have been that connect the dots to your soul. I’ll miss the sweet smell of the air here. I’ll miss the fog rolling through the mountains and people waving at you as they pass you on the road because that’s the etiquette around here. I’ll miss the ‘Hey darlin’s’ and ‘Thank ya sweetie’s’. I’ll miss the genuine smiles of people who know your roots and love you still even after all this time. I am so grateful to be able to have the opportunity and support to take this trip. To me, God writes gospel in the trees and creeks and sunshine- for going outside is really going inside your soul and stirring the beauty within.

Here are some teaser pictures to tide you over. Please bear with me as I travel and start applying for some post grad schools. Who knows what will happen with that? But I sure do love being a photographer and can’t wait to get back to the women’s center. I’ll post soon lovelies. Thanks for reading and being a part of my experience! Now, to quote my fellow Tennesseean homie Davy Crocket, “You may all go to hell, and I will go to Texas.” =)  Hugs and love.   –BV–J.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

3 comments
  1. Roni Eulo said:

    Love the pics, Jamie! It all looks so beautiful, refreshing and SO inviting!
    P.s. I fell in love with the line where you said this, “Home can be many places. I think it’s all the places that you have been that connect the dots to your soul.” I know I’m going to eventually quote you on this so I’m asking for permission in advance. This line just struck the perfect nostalgic chord with me and I already saved it under my “favorite quotes” 🙂
    Good luck with your post grad stuff! You’re such an academic inspiration! Really.
    Miss you, darlin’. 😉 *I miss hearing that too.*

  2. Awww, of course you can use the quote. God gave it to me when I was meditating! Keep on fighting the good fight sister. And I miss you too! But souls like us need to be sprinkled throughout the country!!!!

    • Roni Eulo said:

      Amen to that!

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

