what’s your connection?

The Appalachian Mountain range dates back 480 million years. Its coal is the residue of peat bogs formed in tropical coastal swamps when there was a single supercontinent, Pangaea. This makes my home one of the oldest mountain ranges on Earth. I was home around Cumberland Gap, Tn and its surrounding areas in Virginia and Kentucky and was flabbergasted by the drastic change of landscapes. Some mountains are totally gone. Others looked so scraggly and pitiful from both mining and logging. See examples below:

Seriously, how sad is this? I did some research and saw that Houston has more of an impact on these mountains than the area that the mountains are actually in. Enter your zip code by clicking here to see your mountain top removal impact.

480 million years to build and just a few baby boomers to blow it up. I get so sad when I see what we do to the planet sometimes. There has to be better solutions out there loves- and people willing to stand up for what is right. We start by doing that locally.

–BV–J.

6 comments
  1. Roni Eulo said:

    That is just sad. 😦

  2. Roni Eulo said:

    …but lol’ing at “a panorama of bullshit”…

  3. Elizabeth said:

    It makes me so sad, Jamie. When I’m in M’boro I often think about how beautiful those surrounding mountains would be if they were untouched.

  4. I’m right there with ya, Jamie. Going TDY to British Columbia and seeing the grotesquely large, destroyed patches of forest is really what made me start to see our relationship with our environment in a different light. The beginning of my environmental passions you might say. Poor trees. 😦 I wish people would think about these things prior to deciding they require 4500 sq. feet of living space.

    • I couldn’t agree more Kendall. I feel like my hubbs and I live in a house that is ridiculously big. It’s too much. I want to simplify.

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

