got the whole wide world, in my hands.

Day 39 of 365+1: a picture a day for a year.

Even if I knew that tomorrow the world would go to pieces, I would still plant my apple tree.” — Martin Luther

My mother has been inspiring me a lot lately. My maternal grandmother died in July of 2011 and it’s been difficult for the family to move on from the loss. Mom is in the Appalachians and has spent time with some beautiful souls and volunteering with children. She told me something that I thought was touching today. She said that when she looks into the eyes of children and sees the pain, she sees herself, and that has helped her heal more than anything else. I’ve slacked off with the children at the women’s center here in Houston because of all the illness in my household (husband had surgery and dog having ACL surgery tomorrow). The talk with my mom gave me energy to get everybody healthy and then get back to being active in the community. When you volunteer for those who truly need help, it’s stronger than any vote you could ever make at a ballot box. Change has to start at the most basic level. Thanks for reminding me of that today momma.

Whatever it is that one is giving energy to is being fed and taking root. Just think of what kind of world we could live in if everyone planted seeds of kindness.

–BV–J.

1 comment
  1. Roni Eulo said:

    Amen. ♥

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

