nifty fifty strikes again.

This is normal in Austin.

I posted some pics of Austin a few weeks ago that were taken with my handy dandy Canon point and shoot camera. They can be seen here: Oooh, Oooh, CLICK ME!!!!

I forgot that I took two cameras while wandering around South Congress until I came across a few stray pics on the SD card today. These pictures were taken with a Nikon D90 and Nikkor 50mm f/1.4 lens (which is my favorite lens of all time).

I enjoyed going through the pics and listening to the Yeah Yeah Yeahs.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you are thinking of a new camera and don’t know to go DSLR, read below:

The point and shoot from the other blog cost $350 and the DSLR + lens was quadruple that amount.  I enjoy shooting with both cameras for different reasons. The point and shoot is about the size of a deck of cards, is strictly for play but could fool a professional photographer with remarkable close-ups and low light wide angles. The downside of shooting wide-angle is that sometimes people look fatter due to lens distortion. The DSLR+50mm 1.4 is a bit bulkier but can shoot in lower light and has less distortion. The downside to the 50mm is that it is a fixed lens, meaning there is no zoom- like you actually have to move like a real photographer to get the shot. The blurry background, also called bokeh, is creamier with the DLSR but the point and shoot comes surprisingly close in the right light! I could go on and on and on about the lens- the nifty fifty is such a beautiful portrait lens. The DSLR has better quality although the point and shoot has the ability to shoot in RAW- but I usually find myself doing a little more post processing with the point and shoot pictures. If lighter weight and smaller size matter, I recommend the Canon S90, S95 or S100 (just three different models but essentially the same, I have the S90 and S95 and love both). Canon didn’t even pay me to say that. It’s just a great little camera. Like a Mac computer, it just works beautifully and easily and it’s sleek and sexy.

No matter the camera body you get if you go DSLR, I highly recommend getting a 50mm lens because it is such a gorgeous portrait lens. Dependable. Reliable. Makes you feel like a real photographer. Start out with the 1.7 (Sony and Minolta) or 1.8 (Canon and Nikon) for only $100. I recommend upgrading to the 1.4 when you know what you are doing and are wise enough to know the difference between the lenses and their capabilities. But that is my humble opinion go and buy what is going to make you happy. Technology will constantly evolve, so go with something that feels comfortable for you when choosing a camera.

Cheers my dears!

–BV–J.

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

