get your hands dirty.

Day 82 of 365+1: a picture a day for a year.

My husband surprised me a few weeks ago with a pottery class that started today. My dream is to run a bed and breakfast and practice photography and pottery on the property. Might as well learn pottery if it’s in the description of my dreams. I thought that I would be wonderful at it. I’m not. At all. The teacher helped me a lot and I am both anxious and scared to find out how the vase and spoon rest turn out next week. Oh, but the process. I’ve never had so much fun in my life. Just go grab something and stick it on clay. Lace, burlap, even New Orleans boobie beads could be used for texture. I went outside and picked baby twigs off trees and was satisfied with my creation until I saw the woman sitting next to me carving the most beautiful and intricate vase I have ever seen. I asked her what she did for a living and she said she is a sculptor. Then I asked what was her medium and she responded bronze. BRONZE. She made my pieces look like lumpy and lop-sided play-doh art. Oh well. Playing with clay is so much fun and I loved every second of being as messy as possible. It’s a time when your thoughts may be as wild as the potter’s wheel, and yet in all the chaos, simplicity is found.

Happy Thursday and until tomorrow….

–J.

2 comments
  1. LParent said:

    Our journeys may start from different points. Try not compare yourself to others but rather from where you started and keep striving to improve upon what you have done before.

  2. Right on! That’s the attitude I need to embrace! Thanks for your words.

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

