as children do.

It felt like I woke up with a hangover this morning. I had slept for twelve hours yet had a throbbing headache. Last night, I cried and cried and cried. It’s difficult to accept that my dog Cheyenne is very close to not being able to walk. I want to hang on to Cheyenne forever. The problem with attachment to any form is that goodbyes are inevitable. You can take apart a car or a television and put it back together. You can’t do that with anything that lives: a plant, an animal, a human. There is something undefinable in everything that lives- a spirit. A spirit can’t be touched or even defined. Saying goodbye to an object is one thing but where does a spirit go? These are the thoughts that run through my mind as I watch Cheyenne limp around in pain. I carry her everywhere I can now and give her as much food as she wants. My plan is to keep her alive as long as possible- to give her the respect and love that any patient deserves. She is walking a bit better today (probably because I carry her so much) and we appreciate everyone’s positive thoughts + prayers. I pray for the ability to accept the things that I do not understand.

I had the pleasure of babysitting my friend’s little girl today. She was mimicking her mother cleaning by dipping her blocks in a bucket of water. Look at that little tummy hanging over her pants! So cute.

Michelle is adorable and sweet. My picture of the day is of Michelle just celebrating another day to live, breathe, to enjoy the moments of this life we were given. Day 84 of 365+1: a picture a day for a year.

The more that I am around children, the stronger the urge to specialize in children’s photography. I feel connected to children when I photograph them. Perhaps it is when I see the world as children do.

Hope your day is lovely and bright. Wishing you happiness and love.

–J.

1 comment
  1. Roni Eulo said:

    Oh Jamie, I love this post. You really spoke beautifully of living things and the spirits within. You have such a magical way with words. I am sorry Cheyenne is in pain. Keep your heart strong and I’ll keep her in my prayers. I know how much love we can give our animals; they’re our family.
    *Hugs*
    P.s. That little girl is adorable 🙂

Your Two Cents HERE!!!!

